A Great App For Life With A Newborn

I have to share this app I found a few months ago with you, it’s brilliant. It’s called Collect and is part of the Project 365 journal initiative.

When I was pregnant, I had the best intentions of documenting everything. Writing myself notes and letters; taking photos of my growing belly. I even bought myself a beautiful notebook to write it all down in. But then I was too intimidated to mess up the pretty book because I wanted it to be perfect…and then a couple of weeks had passed and I told myself I’d start my backdated thoughts one weekend when I really had the time and then before you knew it I was 6 months pregnant and taking quick selfies in the bathroom mirror while scribbling thoughts down on a scrap of paper with the best intention to finally collate everything into that book before the baby came.

And then the baby came.

And I decided that OK, I hadn’t done the best job of documenting my pregnancy (1st pang of mother’s guilt?) but now I’d document EVERYTHING about my precious daughter. Only, I was so tired and I never had a free minute let alone a free hand to write/type with. So I took quite possibly a billion photographs on my phone and my camera and used “Notes” on my iPhone to get things down quickly before I forgot.

And then I stumbled across Collect. It allows you to take a photo a day (or 2 or 3 if you want!) and save it like a photo calendar. You give it a descriptive title (something like “Baby’s first smile!” or “3 months old today!” and then if you want you can give it a tag (like “family” or “milestones”) and you can even add notes if you have something more you want to write down. It means you can search later on for certain memories by browsing the tags. You can even upload to dropbox etc if you want to share your photos with others.

It gives me a reminder at 18:05 every single day to upload my photo (I always have plenty to choose from) and know I have a cool visual calendar of everything important over the past 3 months. (I missed it the 1st month – but maybe one day I’ll go back and enter in photos…)

I love it. It’s so easy to do and it makes me smile to flick back through photos even just 3 months ago. So much has happened in that time and you know what? Baby G has changed SO much in that time too.

You can download it for free from iTunes. You can upgrade to Pro for €1.79.

I’m using the free one.

Let me know if any of you are using it too? Or if you have any other app recommendations for quickly capturing little life moments.

Thanks For Reading - Please Comment Below!

